Massachusetts Lemon Law Used Car
Learn About Massachusetts Lemon Law Used Car
Lemon laws for cars were created for the protection of buyers when significant defects arise that may affect the performance, reliability, usability, or overall safety of vehicles. However, in most states, these rules only cover those who buy new cars directly from an authorized dealer.
Fortunately, Massachusetts is one of the states in which its Lemon Law protects used car buyers. This allows secondary purchasers to obtain protection and compensation if significant defects appear after purchase. If you are going through a bad situation after buying, you should know about Massachusetts lemon law used car, so you know how to fight for your rights.
Top-4 Tips for Lemon Victims in Massachusetts
- Request Written Warranties
The Massachusetts Used Car Warranty Law states that a dealer or distributor selling used vehicles must provide a written warranty. This warranty would apply in the event of defects that make the vehicle unsafe or unusable. If your dealer has not yet provided you with this document, request it immediately. In the case of private purchases, the seller must specify and disclose all "known defects" that may affect the use or safety of the vehicle. In both cases, this is essential to make any claim in the event of a relevant fault occurring.
- Check if Your Vehicle Qualifies
There are certain conditions in the law to protect the buyer of a used vehicle. In the case of dealer purchase, the value of the vehicle must be at least $700. Besides, the vehicle must not have more than 125K miles on it at the time of the sale. You can rely on a top Lemon law attorney to do the verification.
In the case of a private party purchase, the law protects the buyer regardless of cost or mileage. Evaluate these conditions to know if your case is covered by the Lemon Law. Also, make sure that your vehicle does not fall into any of these categories:
- Rental Vehicles
- Commercial Vehicles
- Verify Application Times
Please note that there is a set time frame for you to make a lemon victim claim. Used cars are protected for up to 30 days after purchase if purchased from a private party. In the case of a dealer, a coverage criterion is applied according to the mileage at the time of sale:
- Less than 40K miles: 90 days or 3,750 miles (whichever comes first).
- Between 40K and 79.99K miles: 60 days or 2,500 miles
- Between 80K and 124.99K miles: 30 days or 1,250 miles
- Contact a Top Lemon Lawyer
Keep in mind that if your car qualifies within the stated parameters, you do not automatically get any compensation, you cannot apply for free repairs or get your money back. It must first be shown that the defect that appears after the sale significantly affects the use or safety of the vehicle. You must also prove that the seller had prior knowledge of the defect and failed to notify you. It is, therefore, necessary to rely on Lemon law experts to help you achieve these evidentiary facts that will give you a favorable outcome.
Rely on Allen Stewart
Now that you know about Massachusetts lemon law used car, you may be looking for a top consumer rights lawyer to support you. In that case, Allen Stewart has the most outstanding group of lemon lawyers who combine years of experience and success in these types of cases. We are ready to fight for your rights. Contact us for free lemon law consultation.Massachusetts Lemon Law Used Car
We welcome your comments!
Connect Socially With Us
Allen Stewart is not afraid of big business. We take our mission statement seriously, “passionate about defending the rights of people harmed by others.” Our lemon law attorneys in Texas are here to help you by dealing directly with vehicle manufacturers on your behalf. If you think you have a lemon vehicle, contact us today.