When involved in an accident or collision in the state of Indiana, drivers must be prepared to act reliably and in accordance with state law.
Think you have a lemon, click here to fill out a 60 second form.
Indiana law provides the courts and the Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) with the authority to suspend a motorist’s driving rights when specific traffic violations and subsequent actions have been committed.
Unfortunately, Indiana’s traffic fatality rates have risen in recent years, after reaching an historic low of 10.8 per 100,000 of the population, nearly 10 years ago. There were over 800 crash-related deaths in 2016.
In the case of an accident, the driver and passengers should never leave the scene. Not only is it essential that you provide essential help immediately following an accident but leaving an accident scene can result in having driving privileges revoked or license suspension.
If possible, the driver should pull up as close to the accident as safely possible, without blocking traffic. It is also important to be aware of any potential dangers that could be parties involved at risk, such as leaking gas that could spark a fire. Notify 911 and request medical assistance if there are known injuries. It is mandatory to report the accident to the Indiana police if the accident resulted in death, injuries, or property damages amounting to $1000 or more.
It is crucial to exchange valuable information with the driver of each vehicle, such as name, address and contact details of all people involved in the accident; driver license numbers of all drivers involved; license plate number, make and model of the vehicles involved; auto insurance information for the motorists involved; names and contact details of witnesses; and names and badge numbers of police officers at the scene. It is also a good idea to use your smartphone to take photos or videos, which will be helpful when filing claims with your insurance company, so that they can assess damages and get a clearer understanding of who is at fault.
If you hit an unattended vehicle, you must make an effort to find the owner or driver and follow the same procedures. If you are unable to locate the owner of an unattended vehicle, it is best practice to leave a note with your name and contact information, and a brief description of the accident.
Remember, driving without a current liability policy that meets the state minimum standard is against the law. To learn more about Indiana insurance requirements, visit the BMV website. In many accidents, obtaining an attorney may be helpful.
Lemon law attorneys help their clients by dealing directly with the manufacturer on the clients’ behalf, working to promptly resolve the issue and get their clients back on the road. Thanks to the Magnuson-Moss Warranty Act, attorneys can seek their fees directly from the manufacturer, meaning a client can obtain legal counsel without having to pay attorneys’ fees directly out of pocket.